Do you really want the answer to how to know if someone deleted your number on iPhone? The answer may hurt you, but here it goes!
If you feel like you’ve been ignored for a significant amount of time and they are not replying to you, they have likely deleted your number.
Your contact can also be incredibly busy and do not have time to respond to your messages or call you back.
There’s no way for sure to know if someone deleted your number on their phone, but there are a few signs. The first thing you need to do is call them. If your call goes straight to voicemail, they likely deleted your number. If you get an answer and they don’t know who you are, you’re definitely not on their contact list.
Let’s take a closer look at the telltale signs before we go step-by-step so you can confirm if your number has been deleted.
How to Know If Someone Deleted Your Number on iPhone
The problem with someone deleting your number is that there are no alerts or notifications sent to you when it happens.
You will need to piece together everything that has happened to conclude that they have indeed removed you from their contacts.
Here are some of the signs you need to look out for if you want to know:
1. Not Receiving Calls Or Texts
If it’s been weeks or months that you have not received a call or text from them, they have likely deleted your number. You will still have to confirm it, but this is a major indicator.
2. Your Calls Go Straight To Voicemail
iPhones come with a ‘Silence Unknown Callers’ feature that will direct all unknown calls to voicemail. If you experience this, there is a good chance they have deleted your number.
3. Getting No Replies
In cases where their phone rings, you want to know how long it takes for them to reply to you. If they don’t, you can bet they deleted your number.
4. Ignoring You On Other Platforms
See if you are still connected on other platforms like Facebook or Twitter. If they’re active and continue to ignore you, they have likely deleted your number.
If you have experienced any of these, you are now ready to perform the confirmatory steps!
How to Tell If Someone Deleted Your Number on iPhone
Before we dive deep into these steps, there is still a good chance that there is something that’s taking most of their time.
They could be in an emergency or on holiday and didn’t get to reply to your calls and messages. Send a text message first, just to ensure that they’re fine and not in the middle of something.
In case they don’t respond to you, we can move to these other tests so you can finally confirm and not worry about why they’re not taking your calls.
Step #1: How Many Rings Before You Get Redirected to Voicemail
Counting the number of rings can be a subtle indicator of whether your number has been deleted.
They could simply be busy, on another call, or switch off their phone. They could be abroad with no carrier coverage, which will give you an idea of their situation.
Here’s how to count the rings before you get moved to voicemail:
- Call and count the rings before you get to voicemail.
- Wait for about 30 minutes to an hour.
- Make the call again.
- If you hear multiple rings, they’re ignoring your call.
- If you hear only one ring, your number is deleted or blocked.
Note: Now, this is not a definitive test. But if they turned on the call blocking features on their iPhone, they deleted your number.
Step #2: Send a Message on Other Platform Like WhatsApp
Most iPhone users also use WhatsApp as their default messaging platform for its security and privacy features.
If your contact is also on WhatsApp, you will be able to send a message. The big difference between WhatsApp and your default messenger is its more robust delivery receipts.
Here’s how to know if someone deleted your number via WhatsApp:
- Send them a message on WhatsApp.
- Look at the status of your message.
- If you see it with two checks, your number is on their contact list.
- If you see it with only one check for a long time, they deleted you.
Tip: There are other scenarios where it would only show a single check. However, they will not stay that way for more than a couple of days.
Step #3: Hide Your Number and Call
If they deleted your number and purposely ignored your calls, they will likely still remember it. They can quickly transfer you to voicemail when they recognize it.
You can bypass this by hiding your number when you call to appear as ‘Private.’ This way, there’s still a chance that they will answer it.
Here’s how to hide your number when you call:
- Go to Settings, then select Phone.
- Tap on Show my caller ID.
- Toggle the switch to the ON position to hide your number.
Pro Tip: Alternatively, you can dial *67 plus the number you want to call to hide your number.
Step #4: Call Using Another Number
Not everyone is comfortable answering phone calls from a ‘Private’ caller. If you find this true, you will need to switch it up by using a different number.
They will not be able to recognize the number, and there’s a good chance that they will pick up the call. You will need to replace your phone’s SIM card to call them with a different number.
Here’s how to replace your SIM card to call using a different phone number.
- Find the SIM card tray on your phone.
- Open the tray by inserting a SIM-eject tool or paper clip.
- Remove your old SIM card from the tray.
- Replace the new SIM card on the tray.
- Insert the tray back into the phone.
Note: You can now call using this new number and see if they pick up.
Step #5: Check Their Activity on Other Social Media Platforms
Now, it’s not all the time that whenever someone ignores your calls and texts, they’re doing it intentionally.
There are cases when their accounts are suspended, or their phones may be getting repaired. In all of these cases, you’re likely to experience similar signs.
However, when they’re active on their other social media accounts, you know that they’re purposely ignoring you and have deleted your number.
Here’s how to check on them using other platforms:
- Send a message on Facebook, Instagram, Telegram, or Snapchat.
- Send them an email to check on them.
- Check if their social media activity did not change.
- If you’re not getting any response, they likely deleted your number.
At this point, it’s safe to say that you will have to think about forgetting about this contact and not waste more of your time.
If they’re not interested in talking to you anymore and have deleted your number, it would be wise to do the same.
In cases where you need to get a hold of this particular contact urgently, you will have to do the next best thing.
Get help from a mutual friend so you can be in touch with each other and meet them in person.
Read Next: If You Block a Number Can they Still Text You?
Now, there is no definitive method on how to know if someone deleted your number on iPhone.
However, if you do see any of these signs, tried the steps, and still get ignored, they are highly likely to block or delete your number.
Remember that it can also be rude to disturb someone who’s not interested in talking to you. They can report you to the authorities and get you into more trouble.
Kevin has over five years of experience working in various Tech startups and providing Technical solutions. He has contributed to many Tech publications and websites.